Jealous much?

Standard
Jealous much?

I don’t blame you.

I don’t know what you’re having for dinner but feast your eyes on my…er…feast.

Confession time – I have made bread before. But only a couple of times and mostly the same recipe (Russian dumpings called Piroshkis, buns with a mince mixture inside. Yum). So for this project I decided to try something different. I’ve always liked Ciabatta so a little googling later and I had a recipe  http://goo.gl/J8S33

The dough was really sticky and I couldn’t see how it would work but it came together. It’s a soothing feeling, kneading bread. You take your rings off, clean your hands (obviously) and away you go. Pushing, pulling, folding. I could do it for ages. Your mind wanders off. Ho hum. La de la de la. This bread is different to the others I’ve made in that you mixed it with a kitchen mixer, which I don’t have so I used these electric beaters and made a nice mess of them.

I shortened the waiting times a teensy tiny bit. Also, on rainy days like today it’s hard to find somewhere warm to help the bread rise, but a trick I’ve learnt is to turn the oven on and sit the bread in the bowl on top of that. I have not told hubby this, as I have a sneaking suspicion he may consider it ‘a waste of power and money’.

We had some marinated pork steaks so I fried those up, made some homemade chips and viola, homemade steak sandwiches. Yum!

Yum!

If you’re one of those people who think that making your own bread is an impossible and time consuming task – give it a go. It’s not as hard as you might think I promise. Most of the work is in the waiting for the bread to rise. The actual mixing part is as quick as a flash.

You won’t regret it I promise :-)

About Help Me Help Holly ♥

An aspiring writer and avid traveller. Three books published in 2013 (Charlie and Pearl, When Stars Collide, A Roast on Sunday) All available on Amazon. Just created the blog charlieandpearl.wordpress.com to raise awareness of the books so I can make a little bit of money to help my husband and I and our beautiful little baby daughter Holly get by :-) And now we have another baby on the way! Due July 2014, so really need to start making a little money from writing! :-) Thanks for stopping by!

6 responses »

  1. Well done – we make all our own bread although nowadays we use a machine for the mixing. When we lived in Saudi Arabia I made our bread every day completely by hand and you are so right it is absolutely the best way to de-stress. Your pictures have my mouth watering. I don’t think I can face my cereal and toast now!!!!

Leave a Reply

