Hmm…choosing my first weekend activity

Standard

Ok, so today is Thursday and I need to choose the first activity for the weekend coming. Exciting! The book promises that none of the suggested ideas are expensive, which is good (I hear my husband give a sigh of relief.)

It’s important to remember that this is about reclaiming life’s SIMPLE pleasures, not some kind of bucket list. I won’t be throwing myself off bridges attached to rubber bands or anything foolish like that. To give you examples, some of the ideas* from the book are:

  • Sleep under the Stars
  • Have a Picnic
  • Browse a museum or gallery
  • Go Beachcombing
  • Catch Rainbows
  • Go Mushroom hunting (really? They try and get away??)
  • Fly a Kite
  • Hear the Dawn Chorus – (actually I hear this every damn morning so I feel I can cross this one off…although in the spirit of the book I reluctantly suppose I could get up and listen happily and with wonderment rather than burying my head under the pillow and cursing their fluffy little feathers grrr…

At this stage I’m leaning towards either ‘Pick your Own’ or ‘Have a Picnic’

Will let you know as soon as I decide! I think the decision making process calls for some red wine, and it is after 5.00pm…

*(I’m not sure whether to refer to them as ‘activities’, ‘ideas’ or ‘experiences’ – which one sounds best to you?)

About Help Me Help Holly ♥

An aspiring writer and avid traveller. Three books published in 2013 (Charlie and Pearl, When Stars Collide, A Roast on Sunday) All available on Amazon. Just created the blog charlieandpearl.wordpress.com to raise awareness of the books so I can make a little bit of money to help my husband and I and our beautiful little baby daughter Holly get by :-) And now we have another baby on the way! Due July 2014, so really need to start making a little money from writing! :-) Thanks for stopping by!

2 responses »

  1. How about refering these activities to – ‘simple pleasures’ as your title mentions 🙂 And it certainly is, for those of us who read your delightful entries!

Leave a Reply

