Bare bums, horny dogs and slapped cheeks

Standard
The picnic got off to a little bit of a rough start.

Just as we were about to leave the neighbour yelled out over the fence and it turned out they’d been burgled. AGAIN. My husband had seen the burglar stroll down the driveway and just assumed he was a friend of theirs.  Oops. Bear in mind this was 4.30pm on a bright and sunny day on a busy main road. The audacity! They kicked in the back door and made a horrible mess 😦

Here’s hoping Karma was paying attention and these guys get what they deserve.

So by the time we made it out to the reserve at the back of the lake, a mere twenty minute journey, (after doing some vigilante driving around the back streets to see if my husband could recognise the burglar) the rest of my family were already there and had ‘bagsied’ a BBQ. Turns out they are free to use which was an added bonus, especially considering I had forgotten to get coins on the way out.

The view out over the Lake

 

The BBQ area

 

There was only one other group there; four ex-poms who now live in Tauranga. They were very nice and had a horny little dog named Charlie who couldn’t believe his luck when our three black Labradors turned up. Despite the fact that he’d apparently been ‘fixed’ years previously, and that one of our Labs is a boy. He was indiscriminate and spent his time energetically sniffing personal places and trying to get a leg over. You have to admire his optimism.

Charlie sniffing things he shouldn't be sniffing....

 

...and er, attempting to mount things he shouldn't be mounting

 

The brave among us (no, not me, I said the brave) had a dip in the lake. My nephew enjoyed it so much he didn’t want to get out. My brother told him that when your skin starts getting all wrinkly and prune like, it’s time to get out of the water.

“Let’s have a look at your hands” my brother said. “I’m not cold!” my nephew protested, with quivering blue lips and hands shaking so much they were a blur.

The Brave Ones

 

The food was delicious. My brother and sister cooked, as I was busy taking photos and hugging my chubby little nephew.  Oh and drinking, but not at the same time as I was holding him of course. I’m a responsible aunty. Plus he tries to drink my wine and I’m not big on sharing.

Me & my gorgeous little chubby nephew

 

My sister cooking the sausages - hmm, yum yum

 

Mr brother cooking the patties

 

And my sister-in-law enjoying them!

 

All was good until Dad decided to forget he was in public and dropped his wet swimming shorts right there by the picnic table, giving us quite an eyeful.

The moon (heh heh)

 

Perhaps understandably, the English people left shortly afterwards.

*mutters* you wouldn't see that kind of behaviour back home

 

The dogs spent many happy hours paddling in the lake, digging logs out of the bank. That is when they weren’t scrounging for food of course. Awww who could resist those eyes!

At one point they started swimming out towards a bunch of swans several hundred metres offshore. I was slightly alarmed that they might just keep going. My father wasn’t.

“Pick you up on the other side!” he called.

The sensible dog waiting on shore to snatch the stick while the others do all the legwork

 

Oh please can I have some! I haven't been fed since last week!

 

My mother happily pottered around with her grandchildren, picking daisies and doing whatever it is that Nanny’s do. She helped to feed the little one, even putting down her gin to do so. At one point my sister-in-law got distracted and tried to shove the spoon in my mother’s mouth.

Enjoying the fresh air

 

Hmm, yummy mashed up brown stuff...nice

 

It was a wonderful afternoon, with lots of laughs, great food and plenty of wine. And how hard was it to organise? Not hard at all! In fact, it was super easy peasy. If you like spending time with all your extended loved ones I recommend it. Or even if you don’t, just go with a friend instead.

As we drove home, with a happy hubby and a tired doggy…

Er, trying to drive here...

 

I want my bed

I reflected on the afternoon and realised I was feeling very contented and refreshed. My family may be chaotic sometimes but I adore every one of them and if there’s nothing else that Nathan’s passing taught me last year it was to spend as much time as you posibly can with the people you love.

I declare the picnic as one of Life’s Simple Pleasures, and I’m still smiling now when I think of it, although with a slight ringing in the ears as my sister-in-law slapped me hard across the cheek as we were leaving because ‘apparently’ there was a mosquito on my face. My brother said it looked like she enjoyed doing it. Hmm, did I forget her last birthday?

I’ll leave you with a picture of the beautiful sky just as we were leaving….

The end of a perfect afternoon

Have a great week everyone! I will let you know soon what next weekend’s Simple Pleasure will be. Oh and don’t forget to ‘Follow’ my journey! 🙂

x

 

About Help Me Help Holly ♥

An aspiring writer and avid traveller. Three books published in 2013 (Charlie and Pearl, When Stars Collide, A Roast on Sunday) All available on Amazon. Just created the blog charlieandpearl.wordpress.com to raise awareness of the books so I can make a little bit of money to help my husband and I and our beautiful little baby daughter Holly get by :-) And now we have another baby on the way! Due July 2014, so really need to start making a little money from writing! :-) Thanks for stopping by!

15 responses »

  1. Super piccies of what lloks to have been a great trip. Sorry to hear about your neighbours. I particularly liked the photograph of the tired Labrador on the drive home. )()()( a virtual pat for him.

  2. Really enjoyed reading about your picnic experience – I love the way you write – very humourous and engaging. Looking forward to the next…………..

  3. Hi, I thought I’d check out your blog as you had looked at mine. It seems we are both after gaining those simple pleasures and treasuring them. I shall have to look at your other posts and see what other fun you have been having!

  4. Love it. I finally get to go on and its worth it. Keep going on this website and remember to bring the family on your journeys, tammy. From amy.

  5. Hi!

    Thanks for liking my post. Anyway, looks like you had a lot of fun with your family picnicking. Wish my family can spend time like this more often. Oh, and your dad is hilarious! LOL

    • Thank you Suzanne 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed it. The simple things are life are definitely the most important I’m learning. It’s actually helping me a lot at work when it’s busy and I start to get stressed I just think about the things I’ve done so far and seen and all the things I’m plannng on doing on coming weekends with my hubby and family and it seems to bring me peace 🙂

Leave a Reply

