Sometime tonight, in the deep, wee, dark hours of the morning…

Standard
Sometime tonight, in the deep, wee, dark hours of the morning…

I’ll be getting up.

OK, maybe 5.00am is just after the deep, wee, dark hours of the morning but it’s still pretty damn early.

That’s right; we have chosen to do the dawn-chorus-breakfast-walk-picnic idea. Unfortunately though we won’t be seeing any Kakapo’s, the cute green bird I posted about the other day. This is because apparently we are going to listen to Kokako’s…a different species of bird altogether. A blue one. My husband seized this as a prime example of me not listening to him, something he says I do quite often.

Pot, kettle, black, is my answer to that.

My husband also made several suggestions in order to make the morning go a little smoother.

“You could go to bed in your clothes” he suggested. “Then you just have to roll out of bed and you’re ready to go”

‘Hmm”

“Or, better yet” he continued, “you could go to sleep in your clothes in the car. Then we can head straight off!” he beamed.

Obviously I am not taking him up on either suggestion. Don’t get me wrong, I am really looking forward to it. I am loving this Wonderful Weekends experience and trying all these new things. I find myself looking forward to the weekends even more so than before. And picking something new from the book is always fun. A walk at dawn to listen to the dawn chorus sounds absolutely lovely! I just know what I’m like in the mornings so hopefully I appreciate it. I’m hoping to see a beautiful sunrise (first in who knows how many years). Forecast is for rain though, so fingers crossed. We’ve bought cheese and onion scrolls, chocolate Danish’s and strawberry milk for our picnic breakfast.

Will post photos and tell you how it goes tomorrow 🙂

The Kokako (not to be confused with the Kakapo)

About Help Me Help Holly ♥

An aspiring writer and avid traveller. Three books published in 2013 (Charlie and Pearl, When Stars Collide, A Roast on Sunday) All available on Amazon. Just created the blog charlieandpearl.wordpress.com to raise awareness of the books so I can make a little bit of money to help my husband and I and our beautiful little baby daughter Holly get by :-) And now we have another baby on the way! Due July 2014, so really need to start making a little money from writing! :-) Thanks for stopping by!

8 responses »

  1. good luck – it sounds wonderful. I am like you and don’t like to get up until the world has had a chance to sort itself out but now and again I do enjoy watching it all waken up. Looking forward to reading how it goes.

Leave a Reply

