a D.A.Y of D.I.Y

Standard
a D.A.Y of D.I.Y

So today I decided to see what I could create with the fruits of my beach labour yesterday. I’d seen a driftwood mirror on the internet that I wanted to give a try, plus I found a cute little magazine rack at the local Red Cross shop for $5 that just needed to be jazzed up a little to fit into my house.

I started with an old mirror and removed the frame. Ok, hubby removed the frame and nailed some wood to the back and attached a hook. The I took back the project and did the fun part 🙂

I arranged the pieces of driftwood around the mirror first and once I was happy with the placement I used a hot glue gun to stick them in place. It was all pretty easy and fun to do and now I have this fantastic piece of the beach on my wall and I love it!

The plain mirror before the frame was removed

Hanging in place in my beachy corner 🙂

For the magazine rack, I used a smooth surface paint sealer and then painted it a light shade of blue and cream. Once it was dry I stuck shells to both ends and now it sits in pride of place under the driftwood mirror in the beachy corner of the kitchen/dining area.

Before

with the smooth surface sealer paint applied

After!

They may not be everyone’s cup of tea but I like them 🙂

6 responses »

  1. Tammy, you could offer creative weekend excursions for the artistically challenged . . . I’m sure there’s a market for it!!!

Leave a Reply

