Would you like to open your letterbox one day soon and find a postcard from New Zealand inside?

Standard

From the age of about 14 I had a pen pal. Bryce was young and in the army when we met and became friends. He asked if I would write to him so I did, and we corresponded like that for a good 7 or 8 years or so, until email came along and took over.

I still have the box with all his old letters, blue airmail envelopes from when he served with the New Zealand defence force in Bosnia, creamy yellow ones from his time at the army base in Waiouru, and a multitude of other sorts from his travels around the world.

I remember getting home from school every day and excitedly checking the mailbox to see if I had mail, could hardly wait to rip it open and see what news he had.

We are still in touch but sadly we now only communicate through the occasional bulk email update.

The Wonderful Weekend book suggests getting back to basics and writing letters, the way we used to. I love this idea. I have a few girlfriends from school who now live in the UK that I am going to write to (once I get their addresses that is!), but I also thought how wonderful it would be to send a few postcards to some of my lovely readers from all over the world.

So this weekend I am going to pick out some beautiful New Zealand postcards and send them to the first six readers who send their address to theyearofwonderfulweekends@gmail.com

You’re under no obligation at all to send anything back, I just like the thought of someone overseas getting a little slice of life from NZ.

πŸ™‚

 

 

About Help Me Help Holly β™₯

An aspiring writer and avid traveller. Three books published in 2013 (Charlie and Pearl, When Stars Collide, A Roast on Sunday) All available on Amazon. Just created the blog charlieandpearl.wordpress.com to raise awareness of the books so I can make a little bit of money to help my husband and I and our beautiful little baby daughter Holly get by :-) And now we have another baby on the way! Due July 2014, so really need to start making a little money from writing! :-) Thanks for stopping by!

8 responses »

  1. This is a lovely idea, Tammy. I pop a letter in the post to kids every now and then – they love getting something in the mailbox for them, instead of junkmail!!

Leave a Reply

