Best soup in the world

Standard

It’s that lovely time of the year when all the leaves are turning gorgeous shades of red, orange, yellow and purple. Autumn has been kinder to us, weather wise, than the whole of summer. We’ve had glorious sunny days, cloudless skies, and mild temperatures.

Hubby and I even went to the beach last weekend, (no, still didn’t catch any fish).

Autumn/Winter gets me in the mind of casseroles, crock pot meals and hearty soups. So today I dragged out a recipe given to me by my sister-in-law a few years back as part of a kindergarten fundraiser cookbook. I have modified it a little, the recipe calls for pumpkin and capsicums, but I figure, why stop there? So pretty much any vegetable in season ends up in my pot.

The secret is to roast the vegetables in a little olive oil and Thai seasoning first for 20-30 minutes to soften them up. This time I used a butternut pumpkin, 2 x Kumaras, 3 x carrots, 3 x courgettes, 3 x onions, 2 x capsicums and 4 x celery sticks. You can also add parsnips, brocoli, yams, whatever you like!

Roast them in a roasting pan for 20 -30 minutes, stirring them up a couple of times. Then transfer them to a large pot and add chicken stock and boiling water to just cover the vegetables, and a tablespoon of Thai green curry paste. If you like spicy add more, unfortunately hubby doesn’t so I keep it tame.

Boil for 10-15 minutes until vegetables are tender, then use a potato masher to mash if you like your soup chunky, or a kitchen mix stick if you like it smooth. The recipe makes enough for a weeks worth of lunches and the odd dinner. Grill some ciabatta buns or garlic bread and enjoy!

Not the best photo I know - but I was so hungry I was half way through it before I remembered to get an after shot! Buns were long gone by this stage as well sorry 🙂 Delicious and healthy!

 

3 responses »

  1. sounds delicious. I love home made soup – of course we are now getting past the winter warmer stage here in this part of the world but we still enjoy soup. May well try your recipe but in our case it’ll be a mild version. 🙂

  2. I’m looking forward to the weather cooling of so I can try this. When I make pumpkin soup I roast the pumkin, onions & garlic in whole pieces but am looking forward to taking it further with your recipe, and using your tip of the green curry paste. YUM. I’ll be eating delicious soup for my work lunches.

Leave a Reply

