My Recipe book and Piroshki (Russian dumplings)

Standard

We’re thick in the end of Autumn/early winter. Every summer I remember the bitter cold and shudder, but I forget about the beauty this time of the year brings. The fog, frosts and changing colours; all very beautiful.

Yesterday I enjoyed a lazy Sunday. Lit the fire early and enjoyed being snug in my own little house while the cold wind whistled outside. I finally got around to a job I’ve been meaning to do since Christmas – write in My Recipe Book.

I’d wanted one for ages because I’m forever ripping recipes out of magazines or photocopying them from books at work, and either lose them after the first use or squish them in amongst the books on my cookbook shelf, which looks messy. Last Christmas my mum bought me a wonderful Recipe book and I spent a happy few hours writing the recipes up.

Doing so I was reminded of some of the yummy things I’ve stumbled across over the years, and one of them, Piroshki, I decided to cook last night.

Piroshki are Russian dumplings and can apparently be made either sweet or savoury, but I’ve only ever made them savoury. I’ve used both beef and chicken mince in them before. Normally you dice potatoes and fry them with the mince and tomato paste and herbs etc, but yesterday I decided to try something different, so I mashed the potatoes with some Dill and greek yoghurt, and mixed it up with the beef mixture and some grated cheese. They were delicious! Doing a google search I see they can be both baked and fried; I’ve only ever baked them and they’ve always been perfect.

Pictures below 🙂

The bread dough rising

Fried mince mixture (onions, beef mince, tomato paste, basil and garlice and a splash of worchestshire sauce)

Mince, Potato and cheese mixed together – not very pretty but delicious!

rolling out the dough and scooping the mixture inside

Pinching the sides together

Folding the sides in (like when making chinese dumplings)

and voila!

Brush the tops with beaten egg

On the way into the oven…

and fifteen minutes later! Yumo

Tucking in to a delicious dinner by the fire

See the growing baby bump in the background 🙂

Happy Weekends everyone! 🙂

About Help Me Help Holly ♥

An aspiring writer and avid traveller. Three books published in 2013 (Charlie and Pearl, When Stars Collide, A Roast on Sunday) All available on Amazon. Just created the blog charlieandpearl.wordpress.com to raise awareness of the books so I can make a little bit of money to help my husband and I and our beautiful little baby daughter Holly get by :-) And now we have another baby on the way! Due July 2014, so really need to start making a little money from writing! :-) Thanks for stopping by!

6 responses »

  1. They look really delicious and I should think that, depending on the filling of course, they would be great picnic food. I shall have a go at those – Oh yes, hello baby bump 🙂

Leave a Reply

